Admissions Pledge

Home | Admissions Pledge

Admissions Pledge

The LEAPS Admissions Pledge

The higher education institution members of the LEAPS partnership are committed to a policy that encourages suitably talented LEAPS eligible students to make an application to the university or college. 

Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh Napier University, Queen Margaret University, Scotland's Rural College (SRUC) and The University of Edinburgh are committed to an admissions policy which pledges admissions officers to:

  • make offers of places if at all possible to students who are identified as LEAPS eligible;
  • hold open places for LEAPS Summer School students who do not meet the conditions set until reports on their performance are available;
  • consider for admission any LEAPS Summer School Student who does not meet their conditions set on SQA results but whose Summer School report shows potential to succeed on the course for which they hold an offer – regardless of pressure on places.

(Many other higher and further education institutions also consider and admit LEAPS applicants on the basis of the Summer School report.)