University and College Named Contacts for Young Carers

Home | School Students | University and College Named Contacts for Young Carers

University and College Named Contacts for Young Carers

This blog provides details of the named contact for students with caring responsibilities at Scotland's universities and some local colleges too. 

Scotland's colleges and universities recognise the challenges students with caring responsibilities can face in accessing and progressing through Higher Education, so many have additional supports in place, both pre-entry and throughout. Support varies across institutions, and may include:

  • Pre-application support
  • A named contact for support throughout studies
  • Access to additional funds
  • Additional academic support and flexibility
  • Support to communicate caring responsibilities with lecturers and tutors.
  • Access to student wellbeing services, counselling and health services

LEAPS can support LEAPS-eligible Young Carers to initiate contact with the named contact at the institution(s) they are considering or planning to study at, to discuss what support is available and to put this in place in time for starting the course. Get in touch with us and we can make an introduction between you and any named contacts you'd like to speak with. Or you can contact a named contact direct, using the contact details below - whichever method you prefer!

University Named Contacts

Abertay University

Hazel Petrie

Contact by email (advisory@abertay.ac.uk), or visit website.

Edinburgh Napier University

Peter Tormey

Contact by email (p.tormey@napier.ac.uk), or visit website.

Glasgow Caledonian University

Christina Kelly

Contact by email (christina.kelly@gcu.ac.uk), or visit website.

Glasgow School of Art

Leeanne Mckenna

Contact by email (le.mckenna@gsa.ac.uk), or visit website.

Heriot-Watt University

Tracey Kerr

Contact by email (tracey.kerr@hw.ac.uk), or visit website.

Queen Margaret University

Callum Maguire

Contact by email (cmaguire@qmu.ac.uk), or visit website.

Robert Gordon University

Connor Anderson

Contact by email (c.anderson7@rgu.ac.uk).

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Sarah Rushforth

Contact by email (welfare@rcs.ac.uk), or visit website

SRUC (Scotland's Rural College)

Student Support

Contact by email the faculty office at each campus, using the format facultyoffice(campusname)@sruc.ac.uk. For example, if you plan to appy to / attend SRUC's Elmwood campus, contact facultyofficeelmwood@sruc.ac.uk.

University of Aberdeen

Chris Sojka

Contact by email (accessaberdeen@abdn.ac.uk), or visit website

University of Dundee

Joan Muszynski

Contact by email (j.m.muszynski@dundee.ac.uk), or visit website.

University of Edinburgh

Kirstin Henry

Contact by email (edinburghcares@ed.ac.uk), or visit website.

University of Glasgow

Denise Hooper

Contact by email (denise.hooper@glasgow.ac.uk), or visit website.

University of the Highlands and Islands

Lyndsay Sutherland

Contact by email (lyndsay.sutherland@uhi.ac.uk), or visit website.

Lyndsay can be contacted for the named contact for the individual UHI colleges, or get in touch with us and we can provide you with these.

University of Stirling

Student Recruitment Team

Contact by email (wp@stir.ac.uk), or visit website.

University of Strathclyde

Louise Martin

Contact by email (louise.martin.100@strath.ac.uk), or visit website

University of St Andrews

Michelle Sinclair

Contact by email (schools.access@st-andrews.ac.uk), or visit website 

University of the West of Scotland

Alison Hillis

Contact by email (alison.hillis@uws.ac.uk), or visit website

 

 

Local College Named Contacts

Borders College

Jen MacKenzie

Contact by email (careaware@borderscollege.ac.uk), or visit website.

Edinburgh College

Catherine McCormack

Contact by email (catherine.mccormack@edinburghcollege.ac.uk). 

Forth Valley College

Learner Adviser

Contact by email (learneradviser@forthvalley.ac.uk).  

West Lothian College 

Lorna Jenkins and Helen Wilson

Contact by email (ljenkins@westlothian.ac.uk or hwilson@west-lothian.ac.uk), or visit website

 

Last updated April 2022.